frenchOn parle francais

frenchHablamos español

frenchNoi parliamo italiano

Serving California Since 1998

Call Us Today 951-698-4200 | Toll Free: 833-525-5728

The Importance of Uninsured Car Coverage in California as Premiums Rise

 Posted on June 07, 2023 in Car Accident

Temecula Car Crash Injury LawyerUnder California law, all drivers should have car insurance. However, with increasing premiums, the Golden State is on the top ten list of states with the highest number of uninsured drivers. Essentially, 17 percent of all motorists in California do not have car insurance. Uninsured drivers put responsible, insured drivers at risk every day. If a driver who does not have car insurance is involved in a car accident and hits you, who will pay for your damages? Experienced personal injury lawyers can help answer such questions and pursue the financial assistance that you deserve after an accident.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

The California Department of Insurance reports that uninsured drivers are some of the most likely types of motorists to be involved in a crash compared to insured drivers. Ultimately, if you are involved in a car accident caused by a driver who does not have car insurance, you will have to seek compensation from your own car insurance through uninsured or underinsured coverage. The good news is that California law requires every car insurance policy to offer uninsured motorist coverage which usually matches liability limits. Underinsured motorist coverage may also be able to fill the gap when a party has insufficient coverage.

Protections Explained

Your uninsured motorist coverage also ensures that you and any passengers in your vehicle who may have suffered injuries in such a crash are protected. If another driver is using your car with your permission, that driver will also be covered by your uninsured motorist coverage. The minimum automobile bodily injury liability limit in California is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per occurrence. 

Can I File a Lawsuit Against an Uninsured Driver?

California allows those injured in car accidents to use the civil court system to seek compensation from uninsured drivers. That involves filing a claim in court within two years of the accident.

Contact a Temecula Personal Injury Lawyer

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury in a car crash and the other party has no insurance you may be wondering what to do. At Maineri Law Firm, we are here to guide you through this difficult and often overwhelming process. A skilled Riverside County personal injury attorney knows how to get you the compensation that you are entitled to. Call 951-698-4200 for a free consultation.



Share this post:
Back to Top